汽车半导体的希望在哪里?

2020 年 5 月 6 日的半导体故事,作者:Prasad Dhond
分享:

近来的汽车行业充斥着一股悲观的情绪。在预料中的半导体市场萧条的现状中,汽车半导体首当其冲。

我们先来看一些市场调研报告和分析师的评论。汽车市场预计愈发悲观。IHS 三度修改其汽车零部件产量数字,其目前对 2020 年的预测在上一年基础上减少 22%。

其次,汽车半导体行业领袖宣布的第 1 季度收益和第 2 季度预测也不理想。

位于第 1 线的 Denso 和 Aisin-Seiki 也不例外,截止到 2020 年 3 月财政年度的营业利润都出现大幅下滑。Bosch 预计其汽车零部件产量将在 2020 年减少至少 20%,对于一整年的具体数字无法做出准确预测。

从今年三月中旬开始,欧洲和美国的汽车原始设备制造商工厂纷纷关闭,令这一情形雪上加霜。在日本,虽然工厂还在运转,但  Toyota 和 Nissan  都宣布由于需求的疲弱而暂停部分经营。

在这样的大环境下是否存在亮点?

首先,中国的几乎全部原始设备制造商工厂目前都在运转。这些汽车厂商的需求抵消了欧洲和美国市场需求的下滑。欧洲正在逐步开启原始设备制造商工厂,美国也紧随其后。

随着中国的解封,汽车经销商的人流强势恢复。

人们购买汽车,以避免乘坐公共交通工具。对于汽车行业来说,这是一个长期的正面趋势。

有些消费者在购买汽车的动机方面比危机前更加积极,因为他们认为个人汽车比公共交通更为安全。店里的需求现在转向较小型号的汽车,如 A3,说明有些家庭在购买第二辆汽车。

在 2008-09 年的危机中,有些政府出台刺激方案来提振汽车销售。还记得“旧车换现金”计划吗?从 2009 年 7 月 1 日实行开始,首轮资助的 10 亿美元在短短 30 天内就完全用光。政府又批准追加 20 亿美元,但也在 24 天以后被用光。2009 年政府投入的 30 亿美元促成了将近 140 亿美元的汽车销售。其他国家也出台了类似的汽车换新计划。

汽车刺激方案可能在世界范围内再次被启用。各地对于此类方案的呼声越来越高。

在美国:

在中国:

以及在德国:

汽车行业为美国的 GDP 贡献了 3-3.5%。汽车制造业提供 90 万个工作岗位,而在美国,共有 1000-1400 万个工作岗位与汽车有关。汽车制造商和供应商分布全国,尤其集中在密歇根州、俄亥俄州、伊利诺斯州和印第安纳州。

鉴于汽车行业对美国经济的重要性,刺激方案很可能会在今年秋季出台并延续到 2021 年年初。根据摩根史坦利的分析,当前在道路上行驶的汽车平均年限为 12 年,说明汽车购买的需求被压抑。他们还预计将近 100 亿美元的刺激方案有可能大幅改善汽车的销售情况。在过去,刺激方案的重点是燃料补贴,而此次的重心还有可能放在对安全功能的激励方面,为汽车半导体注入一剂强心针。

但更重要的是,各家汽车厂商使用汽车半导体的数量还有很大的成长空间。下图显示了普通汽车所使用的半导体数量和 Tesla Model 3 的比较。普通汽车使用的半导体价值约为 400 美元。电动汽车的数字高出将近 600 美元,而 2 级 ADAS 则在电动汽车的基础上又增加 650 美元。目前在道路上行驶的汽车既非电动,也不属于 2 级 ADAS。所以,我们在汽车半导体市场看到了非常光明的前景。

ADAS 功能十分有用,一旦使用过以后就变得不可缺少(例如,后视摄像头和盲点检测)。而且,在一些国家,相关监管部门强制要求增加这些功能或对其进行奖励。ADAS 的采用率只会增加不会减少。

汽车行业的近期表现将十分不理想。但对汽车电子元件的需求会在危机过去以后强势回升。在 2001 年,汽车半导体的市场规模仅为 100 亿美元。到 2019 年,这一数字翻了三番,达到 410 亿美元。在 2009 年,由于金融危机,这个趋势出现过暂时停滞,但在 2010 年 3 月又恢复了成长的势头。

过去的数字并不能保证未来的成功,但我们可以肯定的是,10 年以后的汽车半导体市场规模肯定比现在大得多。ADAS、信息娱乐和电气化将促进汽车中电子元件数量的增加,确保汽车半导体市场的成长。所以,我们很有信心,汽车半导体市场依然充满着希望。

免责声明:本博客文章的观点仅代表我个人的意见。

关于作者:

Prasad Dhond
副总裁兼总经理 – 汽车
Amkor Technology, Inc.

Prasad 在 2014 年加入 Amkor,现为 Amkor 负责汽车市场的副总裁。他之前管理过四排和双排引线框架产品线。在就职于 Amkor 之前,Prasad 曾在 Texas Instruments 工作过 12 年时间,并担任过模拟产品团队的多个职务,负责产品定义和营销等。他持有德克萨斯大学奥斯汀分校的 BSEE 学位,以及南卫理工会大学的 MBA 学位。

Is There Hope for Auto Semis?

May 6, 2020 in Semiconductor Story by Prasad Dhond
Share:

There is plenty of gloom and doom in the auto industry these days. Automotive semiconductors have become the poster child of the anticipated semiconductor downturn.

Let’s start with market research reports and analyst commentary. Auto market forecasts are turning increasingly pessimistic. IHS has revised its auto production numbers three times and has currently settled on a 22% annual decrease in 2020.

Next, the auto semiconductor leaders have announced unexciting Q1 earnings and Q2 forecasts.

Tier-1s Denso and Aisin-Seiki have joined the party and reported big drops in operating profits for the fiscal year ending March 2020. Bosch expects automotive production to fall by at least 20 percent in 2020 and “felt unable” to make a forecast for the year as a whole.

And then we have the auto OEM factories in Europe and US that have been shuttered since mid-March. In Japan, factories are open, but Toyota and Nissan announced reduced operations due to lower demand.

So are there any bright spots in this picture?

To start with, almost all OEM factories in China are now open. Demand from these auto factories is offsetting declines in Europe and the US. Europe is starting to open up and OEM factories in the US are following suit.

As China opened up, the dealerships saw robust traffic.

People were buying cars so they could avoid public transport. This could emerge as a secular positive trend for autos.

Some customers appear more motivated than before the crisis because they see personal vehicles as safer than public transport. Demand at the store is now skewed toward smaller models such as the A3, suggesting some families are buying second cars.

In the 2008-09 crisis, several governments created stimulus programs to boost auto sales. Remember “Cash for Clunkers”? It started on July 1, 2009 with initial funding of $1B that ran out in just 30 days. The government then approved an additional $2B that also ran out in 24 days. The $3B spent by the government in 2009 generated nearly $14B of auto purchases. Other countries had similar car scrappage programs.

It is likely that auto stimulus programs will be initiated around the world again. Calls for such programs are already increasing all around the world.

In the US:

In China:

And in Germany:

The auto industry contributes 3-3.5% of the US GDP. There are 900k auto manufacturing jobs and a total of 10-14M US jobs that are supported by autos. Auto manufacturers and suppliers are sprinkled throughout the country but especially concentrated in Michigan, Ohio, Illinois and Indiana.

With the importance of the auto industry to the US economy, stimulus is very likely beginning in the fall and lasting into early 2021. According to Morgan Stanley, the average car on the road today is 12 years old which indicates pent-up demand. They also predict that a stimulus program in the order of $10B is likely to help improve the selling rate significantly. In the past, the focus of stimulus programs was on gas fuel economy, but this time around the stimulus is likely to also incentivize safety features which will be a boost for automotive semiconductors.

But more importantly, the auto semiconductor content story remains rock-solid. The chart below shows the semi content in an average car vs. the Tesla Model 3. The average vehicle has ~$400 of semi content. An Electric Powertrain adds nearly $600 of semi content and Level 2 ADAS adds another $650. Most cars on the road today are neither electric, nor have Level 2 ADAS. So we have a long growth runway in auto semis.

ADAS features are useful, even indispensable once you start using them (think backup cameras and blindspot detect). In addition, these features are being mandated or incentivized by regulatory agencies in different countries. The attach rate of ADAS features is only going to increase.

Near-term headlines for the automotive industry will be ugly. But demand for automotive electronics will come back in a big way once the dust has settled. In 2001, the auto semi market was only $10B. By 2019, it had grown 4x to $41B. In 2009, there was a temporary pause due to the financial crisis, but the growth resumed its upward march in 2010.

Past results are no guarantee of future results, but it is certain that auto semis will be much larger 10 years from now. ADAS, Infotainment and Electrification are driving increased electronic content into cars that will ensure the growth of the auto semi market. So yes, there is indeed plenty of hope for auto semis.

Disclaimer: All opinions expressed in this blog post are solely my own.

About the Author:

Prasad Dhond
VP and General Manager – Automotive
Amkor Technology, Inc.

Prasad joined Amkor in 2014 and is Vice President of Amkor’s Automotive Market Segment. He previously managed the Quad and Dual Leadframe product lines. Prior to joining Amkor, Prasad worked at Texas Instruments for 12 years where he held roles in product definition and marketing in the Analog product group. He holds a BSEE degree from The University of Texas at Austin and an MBA from the Southern Methodist University.