以电气方式连接多晶粒的封装技术

Amkor 积极、有策略地推进芯片内建芯片 (CoC) 的研究和开发。CoC 的设计无需硅通孔 (TSV) 以电气方式连接多晶粒。小于 100 微米的面对面小节距倒装芯片互连实现电气互连。母晶粒通过倒装芯片凸块或焊线与封装相连,一般以粗节距与封装匹配。两个(或更多)晶粒能以更快的速度更高效地传输,采用更高频率带宽,并减小电阻 (R)、电感 (L) 和电容电阻,而成本比 TSV 更低。

在焊线封装互连中,CoC 通过母晶粒上的外围焊线连接至封装基板

CoC 也可以通过 POSSUM™ 方式连接。通过此方式,母晶粒以小于 100 微米的小节距倒装芯片互连和粗节距凸块与封装基板互连。子晶粒经过减薄以填充封装组装期间的空隙。POSSUM™ 方式的附加优点则缩短 CoC 和整体封装的 Z 轴高度。

Amkor 的晶圆上芯片 (CoW) 是 CoC 的补充,它可以让母晶圆无需被切割。而且,此类母晶圆能被用作布满切割子晶粒的基板。除了 CoC 的众多优点,CoW 还提供简化后勤和芯片组测试的附加功能。它支持 200 和 300 毫米,以及各种晶粒尺寸和芯片堆叠厚度。

Amkor 通过微传感器、汽车微控制器、无线、光电和移动领域各种应用中的 CoC 技术为大量产品提供支持。

有问题?

点击下方的 “获取信息“ 按钮,联系 Amkor 专业人士。

Packaging technology designed to electrically connect multiple die

Amkor has taken a proactive, strategic approach in the research and development of Chip-on-Chip (CoC). CoC is designed to electrically connect multiple die without the need for Through Silicon Via (TSV). Electrical interconnection is achieved via fine flip chip interconnects, sub 100 μm, in a face to face configuration. The mother die is connected to the package using flip chip bumps or wire bonds, typically at a coarser pitch to match the package. Two (or more) die can communicate more efficiently at faster speeds, with larger frequency bandwidth, reduced electrical resistance (R), inductance (L) and capacitive resistances, and at a lower cost than TSV.

In the wire bond package interconnect scheme, the CoC is connected to the package substrate via perimeter wire bonds on the mother die

The CoC may also be connected via POSSUM™ configuration. In this configuration, the mother die uses fine flip chip interconnects, sub 100 μm, and coarser pitch bumps to interconnect to the package substrate. The daughter dice is thinned to allow for underfill clearance during package assembly. An added benefit of the POSSUM™ configuration is reduced Z-height of the CoC and overall package

Complementary to CoC, Amkor’s Chip-on-Wafer (CoW) enables the mother wafer to not be sawn. Rather, it is used as the substrate populated with sawn daughter die. Besides the many advantages of CoC, CoW provides the added benefit of simplified logistics and chip set test. Both 200 and 300 mm are supported with a wide range of die sizes and chip stack thicknesses

Amkor supports a wide range of products with CoC technology in a variety of applications in the micro sensors, automotive microcontroller, wireless, optoelectronics and mobile arena.

Questions?

Contact an Amkor expert by clicking the request info button below.