克服复杂的 3D 封装挑战

从 1998 年起,Amkor Technology 一直都是开发和提供大容量、低成本 3D 封装技术的引领者。通过部署策略,我们的开发涵盖需要 3D 技术的各种应用和封装平台。客户能从此策略当中获益,因为 3D 封装解决方案在多个工厂内以低成本更有效地符合相关条件,并提高容量。

重要的 3D 平台技术包括:

  • 适用于更轻薄、高密度基板技术的设计规则和基础设施
  • 先进的晶圆减薄和处理系统
  • 更轻薄的晶粒贴装和晶粒堆叠工艺
  • 高密度和小线弧焊线
  • 无铅及环保绿色材料组合
  • 倒装芯片和焊线混合技术堆叠
  • 一站式晶粒和封装堆叠组装与测试流程

晶粒堆叠

Amkor 的晶粒堆叠技术被多个工厂和产品线广泛用于大容量制造。新一代晶粒堆叠技术拥有处理晶圆,将晶粒减薄到 35 微米以下的能力。凭借尖端的晶粒贴装、划片间距、焊线和倒装芯片组装实力,它能够被可靠地与多达 16 层主动设备的堆叠和互连。

晶粒堆叠技术已能实现 24 层堆叠,不过,大多数大于 9 层设备的堆叠都使用晶粒和封装堆叠组合技术,以克服复杂的测试、成品率和后勤限制。

晶粒堆叠还被广泛运用于传统的引脚框架封装,包括 QFP、MLF® 和 SOP 格式。利用 Amkor 适用于大容量、低成本引脚框架生产的行业领先的基础设施,系统设计可以在印刷电路板面积和整体成本方面实现大量的节省。

封装堆叠

Amkor 在完全组装和测试封装堆叠方面提供具有重要意义的创新,以克服与复杂晶粒堆叠相关的技术、业务和后勤限制。Amkor 的先进层叠封装 (POP) 解决方案包括:

底部可堆叠极小节距 BGA (PSvfBGA) 采用焊线或混合(FC 和焊线)堆叠支持单晶粒和堆叠晶粒,它被运用于倒装芯片 (FC) 应用以通过测试和 SMT 处理改善翘曲控制和封装完整性。

底部可堆叠倒装芯片芯片尺寸封装 (PSfcCSP) 在 fcCSP 组装流水线上采用集成 PSvfBGA 封装堆叠设施特点的外露式晶粒底部封装。PSfcCSP 的薄型外露式 FC 晶粒实现 0.5 毫米节距的小节距堆叠接口,它是中心模塑 PSvfBGA 结构的挑战之一。

穿塑通孔 (TMV®) 是我们的新一代 POP 解决方案,它的互连通孔穿透模塑盖。TMV 技术提供稳定的底部封装,让使用更大晶粒/封装比的更轻薄基板成为可能。TMV PoP 可以支持单晶粒、堆叠晶粒或 FC 设计。此封装是适用于新兴 0.4 毫米节距低功耗 DDR2 和 DDR3 的理想解决方案,能够满足储存器的接口要求。另外,TMV 还能使堆叠接口兼容密度为 0.3 毫米及更小的焊球节距。

有问题?

点击下方的 “获取信息“ 按钮,联系 Amkor 专业人士。

Solving complex 3D packaging challenges

Since 1998, Amkor Technology has been a pioneer in developing and providing high volume, low cost 3D packaging technologies. Our development through deployment approach transcends the range of applications and packaging platforms requiring 3D technology. Customers benefit from this approach as new 3D packaging solutions are more effectively qualified and ramped to high volume, at low cost and across multiple factories.

Critical 3D platform technologies include:

  • Design rules and infrastructure for thinner, high density substrate technologies
  • Advanced wafer thinning and handling systems
  • Thinner die attach and die stacking processes
  • High density and low loop wire bonding
  • Pb-free and environmentally conscious green material sets
  • Flip chip plus wire bond mixed technology stacking
  • Turnkey die and package stacking assembly and test flows

Die Stacking

Amkor’s die stacking technologies are widely deployed in high volume manufacturing across multiple factories and product lines. Next generation die stacking technology includes the ability to handle wafers and die thinned down to below 35 µm. It can be reliably stacked and interconnected with up to 16 active devices high, employing leading edge die attach, die spacing, wire bond and flip chip assembly capabilities.

Die stacking technologies have been demonstrated up to 24 high stacks, however, most stacks greater than 9 devices high use a combination of die and package stacking technologies to address complex test, yield and logistic limitations.

Die stacking is also widely deployed in conventional leadframe-based packages including QFP, MLF® and SOP formats. Leveraging Amkor’s industry leading infrastructure for high volume, low cost leadframe production, system designations can achieve significant savings in printed circuit board real estate and overall cost.

Package Stacking

Stacking of fully assembled and tested packages is an area where Amkor has provided significant innovation to overcome technical, business and logistics limitations associated with complex die stacks. Amkor’s advanced Package-on-Package (PoP) packaging solutions include:

Package Stackable Very Thin Fine Pitch BGA (PSvfBGA) supporting single die, stacked die using wirebond or hybrid (FC plus wirebond) stacks and has been applied to Flip Chip (FC) applications to improve warpage control and package integrity through test and SMT handling.

Package Stackable Flip Chip Chip Scale Package (PSfcCSP) enables the use of an exposed die bottom package integrating the package stacking design features of PSvfBGA in a fcCSP assembly flow. PSfcCSP has a thin exposed FC die enabling fine pitch stacked interfaces at 0.5 mm pitch, which is a challenge in a center molded PSvfBGA structure.

Through Mold Via (TMV®) is our next generation PoP solution with interconnect vias through the mold cap. TMV technology provides a stable bottom package that enables use of thinner substrates with a larger die to package ratio. TMV enabled PoP can support single, stacked die or FC designs. This package is an ideal solution for emerging 0.4 mm pitch low power DDR2, DDR3 and follow on memory interface requirements. Additionally, TMV enables the stacked interface to scale with solder ball pitch densities to 0.3 mm pitch or below.

Questions?

Contact an Amkor expert by clicking the request info button below.