数字化生活:无边框,点缀您的时尚数字化生活

2017 年 3 月 16 日的聪明技巧,作者:Hee Jin Kim
分享:


无边框技术、AKA 无边框设计,正在成为全球的趋势。如果对数字化生活感兴趣,您可能听说过这些词语,但对于其他人来说,它们可能就显得非常陌生。不过,这些词语背后的实际意义,相对地可能十分容易理解。

▲ LG 无边框智能手机 G6(图片来源:LG Electronics https://www.flickr.com/photos/lge/32347489043)

边框指的是智能手机或电视屏幕的边框。除了屏幕面板,智能设备必须包含很多其他部件,因此,边框的存在是一种必然。另外,“边框”这个词还包括屏幕的保护材料和屏幕的外边缘。所以,无边框技术指的是,将此类边缘做薄,而让显示屏面积显得比其他产品都大。此项无边框技术与各种智能设备的结合,让屏幕变得更大、更宽,而设计变得更时髦、更美观。

▲ LG 无边框智能手机 G6(图片来源:LG Electronics https://www.flickr.com/photos/lge/33006430142)
▲ 2017 年的 WMC 发布无边框手机(图片来源:LG Electronics https://www.flickr.com/photos/lge/33035929891)

无边框是显示屏技术的发展趋势。在 2017 年于西班牙巴塞罗那召开的 MWC(全世界最大型的移动移动技术展会)上,人们对无边框手机展现出浓厚的兴趣。LG 的大屏幕旗舰手机 G6,是在展会上亮相的无边框手机之一。它在最大程度上压缩边框厚度,并以 18:9 的比率将显示屏尺寸最大化,使其左侧或右侧边缘几乎看不到边框的存在。换而言之,将显示屏设计为几乎覆盖整个正面,屏幕似乎变大了,而手机尺寸实际上没有发生改变。

在巴塞罗那 Samsung Electronics 媒体发布会的官方邀请函上,无边框技术呼之欲出。该邀请函的图片没有边框,因此,很多人都在猜测 Galaxy S8 可能是加强版的无边框手机。即将在 3 月 29 日的活动中发布的 Galaxy S8 似乎将会大幅度地压缩手机正面的边框,提升消费者对无边框技术及设计的期待。

在讨论 LG 和 Samsung 对无边框技术的探索时,有一家公司的名字不得不提,那就是 Apple Inc。众多 IT 专业人员推测,下一款 iPhone 很可能配备无边框显示屏。传言 Apple 将在 iPhone 10 周年之际在新款手机中采用 Samsung Display 的 AMOLED 面板,而将边框最小化是一个可行的方案。如果此事当真,iPhone 正面底部的 Home 键将会消失,而以触屏用户界面 (UI) 取而代之。

首家倡导无边框技术的公司是中国的小米。在 2017 年 10 月发布的 Mi Mix 宣传无边框显示屏智能手机的概念,它是全球同类手机当中的首款。其显示屏占了正面 91.3% 的面积,而边框及背面则采用黑色陶瓷材料,使外观更加优雅、流畅。6.4 英寸的屏幕很大,但借助于无边框技术,该手机实际上十分轻薄。

▲ 采用无边框显示屏的 Samsung QLED 电视(图片来源:Samsung Newsroom https://news.samsung.com/kr/?p=312622)

智能手机行业对无边框技术的讨论最为广泛,但其他智能设备也正以各种方式让屏幕看起来更大,或给人以流畅和优雅的外观感觉。Apple 的全新 10.5 英寸 iPad 计划于 2018 年发布,它可能会选择无边框设计,几乎看不到任何边框。而 Sumsung 的高档电视之一QLED 电视,也采用了无边框屏幕和干净利落的背部设计理念。

但是,每一项技术都有其优点和缺点。优雅、流畅的无边框设计确实很美观,但时尚的外观也带来很多挑战有待克服。宽屏设计给人视觉享受的同时,需要解决其显示屏保护和触屏错误问题。因此,尖端的无边框技术设计师还必须评估与研究如何让设备更安全、更耐用。

无边框产品似乎是过渡到可折叠智能手机和其他技术产品的跳板,它在很大程度上有利于智能设备设计的改进。在无边框和可折叠手机之后,全屏幕技术的传闻甚嚣尘上,该技术的显示屏将充满设备正面的顶部和底部。

各种智能产品的显示屏技术说明,尖端数字化生活的发展没有止境,而且还会不断进步。有赖于此,我们生活在完全无法预测下一代智能设备是什么样子的时代。对于进步的追求为生活带来比想象中还多的便利,即使有严峻的技术挑战,但它依然将为我们打造全新的数字化美好生活。另外,需要牢记的是,不断的产品创新将继续比以往更依赖于先进的封装,以获得梦寐以求的功能、风格和轻薄的外观规格。

无边框!接下来会是无“什么”?

本文作者 Heejin Kim 是一名自由撰稿人、编辑、写手、PT 和内容策划,以及专栏作家,她长期与各公司合作,帮助其制作线上及线下广告社论、杂志、ATL,以及其他众多领域的文字内容。无论是什么职务,她始终以书写富有生活气息的文字,在字里行间描绘美好梦想为目标。

Digital Life: Bezel-less, For Your Stylish Digital Life

March 16, 2017 in Smart Tips by Hee Jin Kim
Share:


Bezel-less technology, AKA Edgeless design, is becoming a global trend. If you are interested in digital life, you might have heard of it, but to others, these might be strange terms. However, the actual meaning behind the words is relatively easy to understand.

▲ LG Bezel-less Smartphone G6 (Photo Source: LG Electronics https://www.flickr.com/photos/lge/32347489043)

Bezel refers to the border around the screen of smartphones or TV. Smart devices must contain many parts besides the screen panel, so a bezel has to exist. Moreover, the material protecting the screen and the outer edge of the screen may be included in the word bezel. So bezel-less technology means making this edge very thin and thus making the display area bigger than other products. This composite and confluent collaboration of bezel-less technology with various smart devices enables a larger, more spacious screen and more stylish and slick design.

▲ LG Bezel-less Smartphone G6 (Photo Source: LG Electronics https://www.flickr.com/photos/lge/33006430142)
▲ Introducing the Bezel-Less Phone at MWC 2017 (Photo Source: LG Electronics https://www.flickr.com/photos/lge/33035929891)

Bezel-less is the trend in display technology, and in ‘MWC 2017’ held in Barcelona, Spain, which is the world’s largest mobile exhibition, people showed a lot of interest in bezel-less phones. The G6, LG’s large-screen flagship smartphone, is also one of the bezel-less phones that was showcased there. It has minimized bezel thickness and with a maximized display size at 18:9 ratio, it looks like there is almost no bezel on the left or right edge. In other words, designing the display to look like it fills the whole front side gives the impression that the screen is bigger without the phone size actually increasing.

Bezel-less technology appears like a hint on the official Samsung Electronics invitation for Barcelona Samsung Press. The picture in this invitation has no side bezel, so many people are speculating that Galaxy S8 probably is a fortified bezel-less phone. It seems that Galaxy S8, which will be introduced in the unpack event on March 29, will have a drastically minimized front bezel, increasing the expectations on bezel-less technology and design.

One company that must be mentioned when talking about LG’s and Samsung’s quest to be bezel-less is Apple Inc. Many IT professionals speculate that the next iPhone is likely to be equipped with a bezel-less display. With the news that Apple is using Samsung Display’s AMOLED panel for its 10th anniversary edition, minimizing the bezel is a viable scenario. If this happens, then the iPhone might lose the home button at the bottom of the front, and have a touchscreen user interface (UI) instead.

The first company to show this bezel-less trend was Xiaomi of China. The Mi Mix, which was introduced in October 2017, advertised the concept of an edgeless display smartphone, the first of its kind in the world. The display uses 91.3% of the front area, and the border and the back cover are black ceramic which adds to its elegance and sleekness. At 6.4″, the screen is large but thanks to bezel-less technology, it feels light in hand.

▲ Samsung QLED TV with Bezel-Less Display (Photo Source: Samsung Newsroom https://news.samsung.com/kr/?p=312622)

Bezel-less technology gets discussed the most in the smartphone industry, but other smart devices also are using it in various ways to make the screen look bigger or give it a feeling of sleekness and elegance. Apple’s new 10.5″ iPad, scheduled to be launched sometime in 2018, will probably opt for a bezel-less design, with almost no bezel. Samsung’s QLED TV, one of Samsung’s premium TVs, also comes equipped with bezel-less screen and clean back design concept.

However, every technology has its advantages and disadvantages. Elegant and sleek bezel-less design is certainly nice to look at, but the stylish look comes with many challenges to overcome. The enjoyable spaciousness has issues in display protection and touch error. Therefore, the cutting-edge bezel-less technology designers must also evaluate and study how to make the device safer and sturdier.

It looks like bezel-less products will act as the stepping stone toward foldable smartphones and other technology products, and significantly contribute to the improvement in smart device design. And, there are talks of full screen technology, where the top and bottom of the front side fills the display, after bezel-less and foldable smartphones.

Display technology of various smart products shows that cutting-edge digital life knows no bound and improves continuously. Thanks to that, we are living in an age where the level of the next smart device is entirely unpredictable. The desire for progress brings to life more than what was imagined, and out of the ordeals of technological challenges it will present us with beautiful moments in the new digital life. Also, it is important to remember that on-going product innovations will continue to rely more than ever on advanced packaging to achieve the required functionality, style and thin form factors.

Bezel-less! What will be the next “-less”?

The author Heejin Kim is a freelance copywriter, editor, writer, PT&contents planner, columnist, she has been working for long with various companies in on- and offline advertising editorial, magazine, ATL, and many other areas where the content can be expressed in writing. No matter in which position she is, she aims for her writing to living and breathing to deliver the dreams she inscribed in between the lines.