半导体故事:封装材料和成本节约,第 2 卷

2017 年 3 月 31 日的半导体故事,作者:Gyuik Jeong
分享:


亲爱的《Amkor 的故事》的读者,你们好,现在已经是春天了。百花齐放、气候温暖。我喜欢这样的天气,将冬天厚重的衣服收拾起来,做一次大范围的春季大扫除。在这一期,我将继续讨论上个月的降低生产成本主题。我们上次介绍了材料,而现在我们将了解制造工艺和封装结构。

将面积最大化

一般来说,半导体制造设备全年 365 天,每天运转 24 小时,从不停歇。我们经常听说某某半导体工厂停电了,造成重大经济损失。半导体制程准确、容易受到影响,此类设备必须保持作业状态。因此,所有设备必须全天开动。如果作业中断,您必须在单位时间内制造更多产品,才能降低成本。那么,怎样才能制造更多产品呢?

首先,将基板面积最大化是一种方式。听起来似乎很奇怪,但更大的基板面积意味着能够在相同时间内制造更多产品。最终产品的尺寸从几毫米到几十毫米不等。我们并非直接制造整块电路板,而是从条带着手。总体而言,封装的每一项工艺都以条带进行。从焊线或倒装芯片贴装,到整个制造工艺结束,无不以条带为单位。如果条带的尺寸变大,更多封装工艺就能同时进行,工艺的成本也随之下降。下图所示为若干种引脚框架封装。您可以轻松地发现面积大小与封装数量成正比。那么,现在问题来了,如果条带的面积越大越好,为什么我们不将现在的尺寸增大一倍,甚至两倍、三倍呢?

▲ QFN 条带尺寸

简而言之,这样做会显著加大封装制程的难度。以模塑工艺为例,如下图所示,环氧树脂化模塑化合物 (EMC) 从模塑一端向另一端熔化、填充,并在同时硬化。最近,随着封装厚度下降,EMC 的流入量随之减少,从而在每个空间流动和填充变得越来越困难。要解决这个问题,我们必须开发新的 EMC 并对模塑设备进行相应改进。

解决模塑的问题还不够。更大面积的条带可能加重翘曲的现象。而更严重的翘曲意味着增加焊球,或封装裁切的难度。不过,每次努力都能获得更有优势的价格,因此研究也在继续。

▲ 条带上的模塑流动
▲ 模塑工艺后的条带翘曲

封装结构

基板占了封装成本的绝大部分。不断降低材料成本的努力不局限于降低基板的价格,实际上,它还想办法完全去除基板。

▲ 封装成本比较(来源:Yole Developpement,2013 年)

 

国内或国外的供应商通过重布线层 (RDL) 制程取代基板,让封装公司可以制造自己的基板。我们将此类封装称为晶圆级封装 (WLP)。除了预浸料或核层,我们还可以采用微米级 RDL 和钝化取代现有的层压基板。而且,为了顺应 I/O 端子数量增加的趋势,人们对尺寸比芯片更大的扇出式 WLP (FOWLP) 越来越也感兴趣。

▲ (左)扇入式和扇出式 WLP 比较 /(右)FOWLP 制造工艺(图片来源:(左)https://goo.gl/xgjy1b/(右)https://goo.gl/RmNUcn)

由于 FOWLP 没有基板,我们预计其能够降低生产成本。除了能避免投入基板成本,我们还可以省去芯片和基板之间的互连,如倒装芯片芯片尺寸封装 (fcCSP) 的铜 (Cu) 柱和焊锡凸块。因为没有基板,我们还能够减小封装的厚度。作为另一项优点,基板没有一层厚绝缘体(预浸料、核层)意味着我们能够优化其辐射效应。

▲ FOWLP 和其他封装之间的尺寸比较(图片来源:https://goo.gl/yoYL4F)

 

不使用基板之后,基板供应商不得不担忧自己的生存问题。结果,国内与国外供应商正在开发面板式 FOWLP 与 FOWLP 竞争,前者对该工艺的基本单位—晶圆的尺寸有所限制。从目前来看,晶圆的直径为 12 英寸,实际已不可能变得更大。有别于晶圆尺寸限制的 WLP,面板式 FOWLP 采用印刷电路板 (PCB),以用于比晶圆更大的面积。在下图中,封装的面积可以是 12 英寸晶圆的三倍。如果方形面板能解决制造过程中可能出现的问题,凭借比圆形晶圆更能善用面积,它肯定比 WLP 更具价格优势。

▲ 晶圆与面板的面积比较(图片来源:https://goo.gl/mkKmmZ)
▲不同面积晶圆和面板的生产成本比较(图片来源:https://goo.gl/yoYL4F)

 

总结

在这两期中,我们已经介绍了降低封装生产成本的研究努力。即使微乎其微,降低价格是人类的天性。功能比过去更佳,而价格更低,这是大家对电子行业的期待。对它的追求没有终点,而帮助降低成本以满足此类期待则是封装行业的宿命。我希望这几篇文章能够帮助您从降低生产成本方面出发,对封装有更深入的了解。

现在,好像又要为下一期的讨论主题烦恼了。很多读者对我的故事展现出很大的兴趣,虽然它们有很多不足之处。我会尽力在下一期献上更有趣,而且有帮助的内容,再见!(欢迎您给我们鼓励和建议。)

关于作者在理想的驱动下,我在 10 年前加入 Amkor。人们都说 10 年时间可以让世界发生天翻地覆的变化,但我希望自己像新入职的员工一样保持好奇心并对每一个项目感到惊喜,这样的话,工作永远会充满乐趣。

Semiconductor Tales: Materials for Packaging and Saving Cost, Vol. 2

March 31, 2017 in Semiconductor Story by Gyuik Jeong
Share:


Hello to all dear readers of Amkor In Story, it’s spring now. There are flowers blooming and warm days, so I’m enjoying the spring putting away the heavy winter clothes and doing an extensive spring cleanup. I will be continuing with the story of reducing production costs from last month. The first volume looked at the material side, and this time we will learn about manufacturing process and package structure.

Maximizing the Area

Semiconductor manufacturing apparatus, in general, work 24/7, all 365 days of the year. Sometimes, there is news about a power outage in a semiconductor factory resulting in a large financial loss. The manufacturing process is so precise and sensitized, the apparatus must maintain its operational state. Thus, equipment has to be on and working all the time. If it is working with no interruptions, you have to produce more products per unit time to be able to reduce cost. So, how can you produce more?

First, one method is maximizing the area of substrate. It may sound strange, but this just means using a substrate with a large area to make a lot at the same time. The size of the final product can be from a few mm to a few tens of mm. We don’t work on individual units but make them from a strip. Generally, every process in packaging is performed by strips. Starting from wire bonding or flip chip bonding to the end of the entire manufacturing process, everything is done on a strip basis. If the strip size can be increased so more packages can be handled at once, then the process cost goes down. The figure below shows several types of a leadframe package. You can easily see that increased area results in more packages. So, the question now is, if bigger strip is better then why do we not make two or three or even four times the current size?

▲ QFN Strip Size

Simply put, that makes the packaging process much more difficult. Think of the molding process. As shown in the picture below, the epoxy molding compound (EMC) melts and fills the mold from one end to the other, and hardens at the same time. Lately, the thickness of packages is decreasing, so the EMC has less volume to flow in, and it gets increasingly difficult to flow and fill every space. To solve this problem, a new EMC has to be developed and molding equipment must be improved accordingly.

Solving the molding problem is not the end, either. Larger strips can cause increased warpage. Increased warpage means more difficult processing to add solder balls or cut off items from each package. However, every effort leads to more competitive prices, so the research continues.

▲ Mold Flow Behavior in Strip
▲ Strip Warpage after the Molding Process

Packaging Structure

Most of the packaging cost comes from substrate. The never-ending work to reduce material cost does not stop at lowering the price for substrate – in fact, now it does away with substrate altogether.

▲ Comparison of the Production Cost of Packaging (Source: Yole Developpement, 2013)

 

Without a substrate from either a domestic or foreign supplier, using a redistribution layer (RDL) process allows the packaging company to make its own substrate. We call this type of package Wafer Level Packaging (WLP). Instead of a pre-preg or core, we can replace the existing laminate substrate with a few µm-thick RDL and passivation. And to follow the trend of increasing I/O sockets, there is more interest in Fan-Out WLP (FOWLP) that is larger in size than a chip.

▲ (Left) Comparison of Fan-In vs. Fan-Out WLP / (Right) FOWLP Manufacturing Process (Photo Source: (Left) https://goo.gl/xgjy1b/ (Right) https://goo.gl/RmNUcn)

Since the FOWLP does not have a substrate, we can expect to reduce production costs. In addition to eliminating the cost of the substrate, we can omit the interconnections between the chip and the substrate, like copper (Cu) pillars or solder bumps in a flip chip chip scale packaging (fcCSP). We can also reduce the package’s thickness because there is no substrate. As an addition benefit, no thick insulator (pre-preg, core) in the substrate means we can expect an improved radiation effect.

▲ Comparison of Size Between FOWLP and Another Package (Photo Source: https://goo.gl/yoYL4F)

 

Eliminating a substrate means that substrate suppliers have to worry about survival. As a result, domestic and foreign suppliers are now developing Panel FOWLPs to compete with FOWLP, which has a limitation in the wafer size – the basic unit of the process. Currently, the wafer is 12 inches in diameter, and practically speaking, it cannot get bigger. Unlike WLP with its limited wafer size, Panel FOWLP uses a printed circuit board (PCB) substrate for larger area than a wafer. In the picture below, the packaging can be done in three times the area of 12-in. wafer. Since a square panel is better at utilizing the area than a circular wafer, it will have better price competitiveness than WLP – if it can solve the problems that may occur during manufacturing.

▲ Comparison of Area between Wafer and Panel (Photo Source: https://goo.gl/mkKmmZ)
▲ Comparison of the Production Cost Per Area of Wafer and Panel (Photo Source: https://goo.gl/yoYL4F)

 

Closing Statement

In these two issues, we have seen several research efforts to reduce the production cost in packaging. It is human nature to look for a better price, even by a tiny bit. Expecting better functionality and a lower price than yesterday is what people have come to expect from the electronics industry. There is no point at which it ends, but rather it is the destiny of the packaging industry to help reduce costs to meet these expectations. I hope it has been of help in understanding packaging in terms of reducing production costs.

It looks like I will have to worry about which topic to pick in the next issue once again. Quite a lot of people are showing interest in my story despite its shortcomings. See you again in the next issue with more interesting and helpful contents, then! (Replies of encouragement and suggestions are always welcomed.)

WRITTEN BY Gyuik Jeong. It is already 10 years since my ambitions lead me to Amkor. They say 10 years is enough to change the face of the earth, but I wish for my mind to stay curious and amazed at each and every project like a new recruit, so the work is always enjoyable.