半导体故事:封装材料和成本节约,第 1 卷

2017 年 2 月 28 日的半导体故事,作者:Gyuik Jeong
分享:


半导体和降低成本

亲爱的《Amkor 的故事》的读者,你们好,现在已经 2 月底,3 月马上就要到来了。我热切地想要迎接温暖的春天,与寒冷的冬季告别。不久前,我在一家大型购物中心逛了逛家用电子产品区。当然,作为一个男人,我的注意力全部都被一台大屏幕超高分辨率 (UHD) 电视所吸引,其他产品都相形见绌。色彩艳丽的轻薄宽屏着实让我着迷了一段时间。它的价格比我预料的低,因此,我很努力地克制住购买的冲动。与仅仅几年前相比,这款全新型号电视的性能更佳、屏幕更宽,但价格维持在相同的水平,甚至更低。

在我上高中的时候,一个朋友从他爸爸那里偷偷拿了手机向我炫耀。我当时很震惊,因为它的价格将近 2,000 美元,虽然只有通话功能,但尺寸比一块砖头还大。如今,各种手机都采用尖端的技术,而且日益小型化,但它们的价格却奇怪地不断下降。为什么会这样呢?答案有很多,但要我说,我的答案是因为科技的进步,导致生产成本不断降低,而这也是我们今天的话题。平板电视所用的半导体封装肯定经历了众多生产成本降低步骤,以便于占有价格优势。所以,本卷将探讨半导体封装领域的努力。在这方面,需要讨论的话题很多,但我今天要介绍的是封装的材料。

半导体和金线

首先,我们来了解一下半导体封装所用的材料。封装需要多种材料,其中有基板,如引脚框架和印刷电路板 (PCB),还有环氧树脂模塑化合物 (EMC)、晶粒粘合剂、金线,等等。材料厂商想尽各种办法以获得价格优势。那么,公司该如何降低封装的材料成本呢?

第一,是金线。它通过电气方式将芯片连接至外部 I/O 端子。您听说过“金贵”这个词吗?一点都没错。它就是贵!在最近 30 年里,黄金的价格稳步上扬。作为一家半导体封装公司,您肯定不希望封装的价格随着黄金水涨船高。尽可能少地使用金线,有助于降低成本。

▲ 黄金价格变动 / 不同直径的金线价格比较(图片来源:(左)https://goo.gl/eIIPGG/ (右)https://goo.gl/2D2TkE)

人类头发的粗细大约为 50 至 100 微米。相比较之下,封装所用的金线要细得多,通常低于 25 微米。金线越细,意味着价格优势越大。不过,它也不能无限制地细化。金线变得越细,其电气特性越差,而且越容易在模塑阶段发生移动,从而导致与附近的电线短路。

▲ 铜线和金线/不同线材的成本节约对比

 

黄金很贵,不过也有较便宜的材料。最具有竞争力的当属铜 (Cu)。铜的价格怎么可能比金还高呢?由于铜很容易被氧化,硬度变得比黄金还高,因此,您必须更多地注意工艺流程,它可能提高使用铜时的总体成本。另外,还有很多价格具有竞争力的其他材料。

若不更换材料,您可以减少金线的用量。要做到这一点,您可以将金线尽可能近地连接至芯片。除了金线以外,您还需要某种粘合剂,将芯片贴装到基板上。此工艺可以选用环氧树脂,但部分液态环氧树脂会在固化阶段流到芯片的外部。如果线材与芯片的焊接距离太小,部分环氧树脂可能粘到上面,从而无法获得所需的适当焊接效果。使用晶粒粘合膜 (DAF) 以取代环氧树脂,能够在相当程度上缩短线材。另外,降低布线的厚度和宽度也能缩短线材。不过,这些通常就意味着基板制作成本的上升,因此您在设计时必须考虑到所有这些方面。

▲ 指状焊片环氧树脂和 DAF 的位置比较/不同指状焊片节距的线材长度比较

半导体和基板

我要讨论的第二个主题是基板。当今封装设计的趋势之一是采用无核基板。传统基板设计在一层厚核层双面都有布线层。如果没有核层,整体封装的价格和厚度都会下降,因此,人们对此项技术的兴趣相当浓厚。不过,天下无免费的午餐。没有相对较硬的核层会影响翘曲,还会导致与电气性能有关的问题。因此,必须同时从不同角度对封装性能进行评估。

布线层的增多要求在生产制程期间投入更多精力,成本也随之上升。减少布线层的数量有助于降低生产成本。采用无核基板技术—內埋式线路基板 (ETS) 是实现这一点的方式之一。它使用预浸料取代核层,同时能够减少布线层的数量,因此最近日益成为基板领域的焦点。

▲ 有核与无核基板的横截面比较 / ETS 的剖面结构(图片来源:(左) https://goo.gl/8VNN1I/(右)https://goo.gl/wy8RWd)

 

我有一次在一家材料供应商的办公室里看到一块写着“降低生产成本,不然就被淘汰”的白板。虽然有点危言耸听,但降低生产成本不只是一个选项,而是保持竞争力的唯一方式,因此必须以紧迫和果断的表达传递这样的讯息。如果生产成本得到严肃对待,产品的价格就会下降,或者让最终产品制造商能为家用电子产品增加更多功能,就像我之前提到的 UHD 电视那样。这再次提醒我,降低生产成本在该领域工作内容具有非同寻常的重要性。在本卷中,我对材料进行了介绍,下次我们将讨论制造工艺中使用的技术。我们下一期再见!

关于作者在理想的驱动下,我在 10 年前加入 Amkor。人们都说 10 年时间可以让世界发生天翻地覆的变化,但我希望自己像新入职的员工一样保持好奇心并对每一个项目感到惊喜,这样的话,工作永远会充满乐趣。

Semiconductor Tales: Materials for Packaging and Saving Cost, Vol. 1

February 28, 2017 in Semiconductor Story by Gyuik Jeong
Share:


Semiconductors and Reducing Cost

Hello to all dear readers of Amkor In Story, it’s already the end of February and March is coming. I am so eager for the warm spring to come and put the harsh winter in the past. A while ago, I took a look around the home electronics area in a big shopping center. Naturally, as a man, I had my attention on a large ultrahigh definition (UHD) TV and nothing much besides. The colorful scene filling the thin, wide screen mesmerized me for some time. It was cheaper than I expected, so I had a hard time refraining from buying it. Compared to just a few years ago, this new model has better performance and a bigger screen, but the price stayed about the same or even lower.

When I was in high school, one of my friends was showing off a cell phone that he secretly took from his dad. I was shocked to realize it was nearly $2,000 and although it was talk-only cell phone, it was bigger than a brick in size. Nowadays, the cell phones are cutting-edge and smaller but mysteriously the price keeps dropping. Why is that? There are many answers, but I will say, it’s the advances in technology and, today’s topic – reducing the production cost. The semiconductor packages used in flat panel TVs must have had many production cost saving steps to have a competitive edge in price. So, this volume will deal with the effort put into semiconductor packaging. There are many things to talk about, but today I will deal with the story of materials.

Semiconductor and Gold Wire

First, let’s look at the materials used in semiconductor packaging. Packaging needs several kinds of material. There are substrates like a leadframe or a printed circuit board (PCB), and there are the epoxy mold compound (EMC), die adhesive, gold wire, and more. The companies producing the materials put in a lot of effort to offer competitive prices. So, how can the company doing the packaging reduce the material cost?

First, there is the gold wire. This electrically connects the chip to external I/O sockets. You know the saying ‘the price of gold’? It is literally that. Expensive! The price of gold has been increasing steadily over the last 30 years. As a company making semiconductor packages, you wouldn’t want the price of the package rising as gold prices increase. It helps to reduce costs by using as few gold wires as possible.

▲ Change in Gold Price / Price Comparison Per Diameter of Gold Wire (Photo Source: (left) https://goo.gl/eIIPGG/ (right) https://goo.gl/2D2TkE)

The thickness of human hair is usually 50 to 100 microns. In contrast, the gold wires used in packaging are much thinner, typically less than 25 µm. Thinner wire means a more competitive edge to the price. However, it can’t get thinner indefinitely. The electrical characteristics get worse as the wire gets thinner, and the wire becomes susceptible to sweeping or movement during the molding stage, resulting in short circuits with adjacent wires.

▲ Wire Cost Savings Copper vs. Gold / Various Wire Materials

 

Gold is costly, but there are cheaper materials. The most competitive one is copper (Cu). How can copper ever be as expensive as gold? Because copper can be oxidized easily and harder than gold, you must pay more attention to the process and this can raise the total cost of using copper. There are many other materials with competitive prices, too.

Beside changing the material, you can use less gold wire. This can be done by connecting the wire as near to the chip as possible. In addition to wires, you need some type of adhesive to glue the chip onto the substrate. Epoxy is chosen for this kind of work, but some liquid epoxies will flow over to the outside of the chip during the curing stage. If the wire is bonded too close to the chip and some epoxy gets on it, then it might not be possible to achieve proper bonding. Using die attach film (DAF) instead of epoxy enables us to shorten the wire considerably. Also, reducing the thickness and width of the wiring can shorten the wire too. However, reducing those usually means higher cost for making the substrate, so you must design taking all these aspects into consideration.

▲ Location Comparison for Bond Finger Epoxy VS DAF / Comparison of Wire Length Per Bond Finger Pitch

Semiconductors and Substrates

The second topic I want to talk about is the substrate. One of the current packaging design trends is using a coreless substrate – one without a core. The traditional substrate design has a thick core with wiring layers on either side of it. If there is no core, both the price and the thickness of the entire package decreases, so quite a lot of interest is being shown in this technique. However, there’s no such thing as a free lunch. Not having a comparatively hard core can affect the warpage and can also cause issues with electrical properties. So, there have to be evaluations of package performance from various angles at the same time.

More wiring layers adds more effort to the production process, so the cost goes up. Reducing the number of wiring layers can also help reduce the production cost. One way to do this is with an embedded trace substrate (ETS), a coreless substrate technique. It uses a pre-impregnated or approach pre-preg instead of a core and can also reduce the number of wiring layers, so it has recently come into the substrate spotlight.

▲ Comparison of Cross-section between Cored and Coreless Substrate / Cross-sectional Structure of ETS (Photo Source: (left) https://goo.gl/8VNN1I/ (right) https://goo.gl/wy8RWd)

 

Once, I saw a whiteboard featuring the words ‘Save the Production Cost or Die’ in a material supplier’s office. It scared me a little, but then saving the production cost is not just an option but the only way to stay competitive. So, it must be conveyed as an expression of urgency and resolution. When the production costs are taken seriously, the price tag drops or allows end product manufacturers to add more features in home electronics products like an UHD TV as I noted earlier. It reminds me once again that reducing the production costs is a matter of grave importance in field work. I talked about materials in this volume, and for the next one we’ll take a look at techniques used during the manufacturing process. See you in the next issue!

WRITTEN BY Gyuik Jeong. It is already 10 years since my ambitions lead me to Amkor. They say 10 years is enough to change the face of the earth, but I wish for my mind to stay curious and amazed at each and every project like a new recruit, so the work is always enjoyable.